American Hockey League President and CEO David Andrews announced today that the league has named the 2011-12 recipients of several awards for excellence and service to the league.

The announcements came Wednesday evening at a gala reception during the leagueís annual meeting of the Board of Governors at Hilton Head Island, S.C.

St. Johnís IceCaps chief operating officer Glenn Stanford has been named the winner of the James C. Hendy Memorial Award as the outstanding executive in the American Hockey League for 2011-12. With just four short months from franchise inception to opening night, Stanford returned to his native St. Johnís last summer and oversaw the sale of nearly 4,500 season tickets and 35 corporate ahlhwhile building a staff, upgrading Mile One Centre and directing what would quickly become one of the elite organizations in the AHL. The IceCaps sold out all 46 home games during the regular season and playoffs and quickly became a key part of the province through player appearances, community efforts and charitable donations.
Read on