The New York Islanders have assigned 19 players to their minor league affiliate, the Bridgeport Sound Tigers, ahead of Saturday’s CBA deadline that would see the NHL lockout for the third time in commissioner Gary Bettman’s Tenure.

Among the players starting their season in the AHL are defensemen Travis Hamonic and former first round draft pick Nino Niederreiter. Hamonic has not played in the minors since 2010, when he played 19 games for the Sound Tigers before being called up by the Islanders. Since then he has become one of the Islanders top defensemen.

...The other 17 players that were assigned include Casey Cizikas, David Ullstrom, Matt Donovan, Calvin de Haan, Anders Nilsson, Kevin Poulin, and Aaron Ness, who all saw time in the NHL last season.

Marc Cantin, Jason Clark, Brandon DeFazio, Mike Halmo, Brock Nelson, Johan Sundstrom, John Persson, Kirill Kabanov, Jon Landry, and Blair Riley were also assigned to the Sound Tigers.