The Olympic communuty honoured two veteran hockey stars at the closing ceremony of the 2014 Winter Olympics - and officially welcomed Hayley Wickenheiser as IOC Member.

Finland's Teemu Selanne and the USA's Julie Chu were selected as their nation's flagbearers in Sunday's final farewell to Sochi. The duo both picked up medals at the Games, with Selanne's bronze adding him to an elite club with gongs from four different Olympics and seeing him named MVP at what he promises is his farewell to the five rings.

Meanwhile Chu, for many years the most recognisable face of women's hockey in the U.S., won her fourth prize as Team USA took silver